• From the Desk of the General Minister
  • What's New
  • Upcoming Events
  • Photo Gallery
  • Photo Gallery
  • Crossroads Newsletter
  • Jubilarians
  • Birthdays & Feastdays
  • Spiritual Enrollment
  • Gifting
  • Contact Us
  • Donate Online

The Franciscan Sisters of Chicago held their annual Autumn Dinner Dance on October 27th at DiNolfo's Banquets in Homer Glen, Illinois. This event has been a staple Fall celebratory tradition for several years now. This year the guests enjoyed a wonderful dinner, a prize raffle and live music by the Together Band. Two awards, the Weaver Award and the Golden Thread Award, were presented as well.


This year, Sister M. Monica Sendlosky was the recipient of the Franciscan Weaver Award for 2016. The Franciscan Weaver Award is an honor awarded to a Franciscan Sister of Chicago who embodies the Franciscan charism and shows Franciscan joy in their daily life. Sister M. Bernadette Bajuscik, General Minister of the Franciscan Sisters of Chicago addressed the dinner dance guests on behalf of Sister M. Monica. “Sister M. Monica serves others generously and her very being is rooted in the Gospel message. She is someone who allows the grace of God to shine through her as she shows the face of God to everyone she encounters,”

Sister M. Monica entered the Congregation on September 8, 1952 and made her professional vows in 1955. She began by teaching elementary school at Five Holy Martyrs in Chicago until 1969 and then later at St. Hedwig in Gary, Indiana and SS Philip and James in Cleveland, Ohio. She then went on to Madonna High School to serve as the School Librarian and coordinator of various student activities until 2001. Sister M. Monica was also the Finance/Pastoral Care Assistant at St. Joseph Village for 14 years. She also held the positions of Local Treasurer, Local Minister and General Secretary for FSC.

“In all of these roles Sister exhibited a generous willing spirit, easily weaving her own personal talents and skills into the lives of those to whom she ministered,” Sister M. Bernadette conveyed to the guests.

Sister M. Monica expressed her gratitude to the Sisters: “When I was notified that I was to receive the Weaver Award, I was truly surprised. I am grateful and humbled that my fellow Sisters recognized my work and dedication for our community.”


George Ferrell and William Callaghan of Henry Brothers Co. were this year’s Golden Thread Award recipients. The Golden Thread Award is bestowed upon an individual or group of individuals whose loyal and faithful commitment has enabled the Franciscan Sisters of Chicago to continue their ministries. Henry Bros. Co. has been instrumental in developing and constructing some of FSC/Franciscan Ministries' communities such as Our Lady of Victory Convent, St. Joseph Village, and Phase III and IV of Franciscan Village. Through the years Henry Bros. have also donated or have been an anchor donor for many of FSC’s fundraising events such as our yearly ‘Swinging for the Sisters’ and the Autumn Dinner Dance. The company has a long history in working with the Catholic Archdiocese of Chicago and Joliet, building churches, communities, and schools.

The Sisters presented the award to the honorees and Sister M. Bernadette enlightened our guests with her presentation speech. "It was the thought of Mother Mary Theresa Dudzik that people who helped her in her work were like golden threads. The golden threads were solid, strong and a valuable part of the fabric of the life and future of the Sisters. Speaking of 'golden threads' is a more feminine way of telling of the ways that this awardee has related to us. It would certainly be right to translate their actions over the past seventeen years into the masculine language of construction, of bricks and mortar. Throughout that entire period they have gifted us with veritable "bricks" of cash with which we could further build up our charitable ministries. But far beyond these generous annual gifts they have cemented it all with the best gift of all - their solid relationship with the Sisters - the mortar which binds us together in friendship and love."

William Callaghan accepted the award and addressed the attendees: "George and I are most honored to receive the Golden Thread Award from the Franciscan Sisters of Chicago. We are the third generation owners of Henry Bros. Co., which has nearly a 100-year history of working for the Catholic Church in the Chicago area. Our company’s tradition has always been to provide service and support to our clients with integrity and the highest standards of quality in the industry. Being recognized for our work by the Franciscan Sisters of Chicago, a group that we hold in such high esteem for their service to the community, is truly an honor. As St. Francis lived, ‘right with God and creation,’ so too the Franciscan Sisters of Chicago have followed his footsteps here to make our world a better place. I’d like to recognize our families, friends, and the rest of the Henry Bros. team here with us tonight. All of you share in this award with us. Thank you."

We appreciate everything Sister M. Monica and Henry Bros. Co. have done for us over the years and offer God’s blessings to them. Thank you to all who attended our Autumn Dinner Dance and showed support for the Sisters. We hope to see you again next year!

We thank our generous Underwriters who partnered with us to make our
Autumn Dinner Dance a success.

Joseph J. Duffy Co. - Jerry DeCicco - For Underwriting Postage

Codeco Industries, Inc. - George Cote - For Underwriting Printing

Franciscan Ministries - Judy Amiano & Ron Tinsley - For Underwriting Entertainment

Peter Clerkin - McDonnell Investments Management - For Underwriting the Sisters Attendance

O'Hare Mechanical - For Underwriting Centerpieces

Matthew Markiewicz - Markiewicz Funeral Home P.C. - For Underwriting Beverages

John Storto - Assurance Agency - For Underwriting Our Red Carpet

Mary McManus - Oakridge Investments, LLC - For Underwriting Our Photography

Unidine - For Underwriting Dessert

We also wish to thank our Sponsors:
AG Architecture, Edward Burton, Callahan Plumbing, Dawn Cohn, Rosalyn Craig
Dr. Peter Doris, Mr. John Glover, Delores Grantz, Mr. and Mrs. John Grele, Marie Kedzior
Joseph Lushnia, Meany Electric, Francine J. Modelski, Annette & Frank Shoemaker
Sandra M. Singer, Dr. James Strzyz, Theresa Szymula, Chris Zielke, Laura Zurek